Transfer of Post-Secondary Credits from Area Technical Colleges to Community Colleges

SP 9-72

Approved: September 1, 2006
Effective: September 1, 2006
Revised: December 16, 2015

Reference: BP 9-72; C.R.S. 23-60-802

/ Nancy J. McCallin /
Dr. Nancy McCallin
System President


Board Policy 9-72 requires the System President to promulgate procedures necessary to implement the transfer of post-secondary credits from area vocational schools to any institution within the state system of community and technical colleges.


This procedure applies to the Colorado Community College System (“CCCS”) beginning September 1, 2006 or Fall Semester 2006.


This procedure provides guidance for the transfer of career and technical education
post-secondary credits from Emily Griffith Technical College, Delta-Montrose Technical College, and Pickens Area Technical College (collectively, “Area Technical Colleges”) to all CCCS member institutions.


Procedures will be uniform for all CCCS member institutions.

  1. Requirement for Transfer of Credits
    The transfer eligibility of credits earned at Area Technical Colleges will be determined through transcript evaluations administered by the receiving institution. The institution will develop transfer procedures that are consistent in their interpretation and application throughout the institution.

  2. Transfer of Credits from Area Technical Colleges

    A student who completes coursework at an Area Technical College may transfer any career and technical post-secondary course credits with a grade of “C” or better, that was earned while enrolled in the Area Technical College, to appropriate programs at all CCCS member institutions. These eligible career and technical credits may be applied to the requirements of a program leading to a certificate or to an Associate of Applied Science degree or an Associate of General Studies degree or a Bachelor of Applied Science degree at a community college or junior college. Transfer is limited to Career and Technical (“CTE”) coursework.

    In order to create a seamless educational experience, CCCS has implemented two additional strategies to assist Area Technical College graduates: (1) A statewide articulation agreement that allows Area Technical College graduates to transfer up to 45 credits to a CCCS member institution and then complete an AAS degree in Applied Technology by completing an additional 15 – 18 credits of general education courses at the community college; and (2) CCCS also collaborates with Area Technical Colleges to offer AAS degrees that include CTE coursework from Area Technical Colleges and general education courses from CCCS member institutions.

  3. Accreditation

    These procedures do not address transfer issues where the State has limited legal authority: the transfer of credits from private, non-accredited, or out-of-state institutions or the awarding of credit for non-credit bearing courses.

  4. Postsecondary Program Approval

    For community colleges, junior colleges, area vocational schools and technical colleges, State Board Policy 9-47, written in accordance with Colorado Revised Statutes § 23-1-107(3) and corresponding Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) policy, requires that all approved programs (AAS, AGS and Certificate) be evaluated at least once in a five-year period using the CCCS Career and Technical Program Approval Process.

    The Colorado Standards for Career and Technical Education programs require that all AAS degree programs and certificates must be renewed at least every five years for continued approval by the State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education (“SBCCOE”).Post-Secondary credits accepted in transfer from the Area Technical Colleges must come from an SBCCOE/CCCS approved CTE certificate program.

Revising this Procedure

CCCS reserves the right to change any provision or requirement of this procedure at any time and the change shall become effective immediately.