TAA Colorado Helps Advanced Manufacturing Program

U.S. Department of Labor Secretary Thomas Perez was at Front Range Community College in Westminster (FRCC) today in-part to announce a $25 million grant to a consortia of nine higher-ed institutions across Colorado focused on developing a pipeline of skilled advanced manufacturing workers (FRCC is the lead college in the consortia). Specifics then news release follow (institutions in blue belong to the Colorado Community College System):

Front Range Community College
Consortium Leader
Award Amount: $9,925,073
Total Consortium Award Amount: $24,945,310
Consortium members: Aims Community College ($2,106,296), Community College of Denver ($3,534,061), Emily Griffith Technical College ($417,734), Lamar Community College ($1,092,663), Pikes Peak Community College ($2,307,859), Pueblo Community College ($1,656,914), Red Rocks Community College/WarrenTech ($1,946,047), Metropolitan State University of Denver ($1,958,663)
Industry focus: Advanced Manufacturing

Front Range Community College is launching the Colorado Helps Advanced Manufacturing Program. CHAMP’s partners will increase the attainment of manufacturing degrees and certificates that align with the industry’s recognized competencies, skills and certifications to create a pipeline of highly-qualified advanced manufacturing industry workers. CHAMP will redesign credit for prior learning allowing TAA-eligible students to accelerate toward degree and credential attainment. The colleges will add industry-driven content to the manufacturing program and redesign several courses for online/hybrid delivery.

Read Full Story

Colleges and Contacts in the Consortium

Aims Community College

Name Title Email Phone
Bruce Beardsley Project Manager bruce.beardsley@aims.edu (970)339-6265
Richard Hanks Dean, Leadership Team richard.hanks@aims.edu (970)339-6513
Tiffany Brickley Staff Associate tiffany.brickley@aims.edu  (970)339-6449
Stephanie Staudacher Business Outreach Coordinator stephanie.staudacher@aims.edu  (970)339-6411
 Sedge Southworth  Navigator sedge.southworth@aims.edu (970)378-3512
John Mangin Faculty for curriculum development john.mangin@aims.edu (970)339-6413
Kailey Block Fiscal kailey.block@aims.edu (970)339-6433
Laura DaVinci Grants office laura.davinci@aims.edu (970)339-6508
Lee Ann Sappington Data coordination leeann.sappington@aims.edu (970)339-6223
Laura Lewis Data coordination laura.lewis@aims.edu (970)339-6516


Community College of Denver

Name Title Email Phone
Project Manager/Internship Coordinator
Christopher Budden Alternate Lead christopher.budden@ccd.edu (303)352-3221
Tim Huggins Navigator timothy.huggins@ccd.edu (303)352-6936
Nicki Kravcisin Data Specialist nicki.kravcisin@ccd.edu (303)352-3280
Tony Rubino Faculty for curriculum development  anthony.rubino@ccd.edu (303)853-9517
Stephanie Woodruff Fiscal stephanie.woodruff@ccd.edu (303)352-3001


EGTC, Emily Griffith Technical College

Name Title Email Phone
Jody Allen Smith CHAMP Manager jody.allen.smith@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-8994
Michael Bevis Alternate Project Lead-Instructional Dean of Trades & Industry michael.bevis@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-8996
Ashley Knight CHAMP Navigator ashley.knight@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-8995
Chuck Sugent Manager – Advanced Manufacturing Laboratory & Customized Training chuck.sugent@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-8978
Ryan Thomas Welding Faculty Lead ryan.thomas@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-8985
Carma Leichty-Baughman Instructional Designer-Contract carma@onwardstudios.com  (970)380-7664
Tim McMahon Instructional Designer tim.mcmahon@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-4865
Shawna Lee CAD/BIM Instructor shawna.lee@emilygriffith.edu (720)423-8974
Travis Peterson Fiscal travis.peterson@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-4853
Denise Bender IR denise.bender@emilygriffith.edu  (720)423-4817


Front Range Community College

Name Title Email Phone
Ruth Meese Project Lead CHAMP Project ruth.meese@frontrange.edu (303)678-3698
Matt Jamison Dean of Instruction matt.jamison@frontrange.edu (303)678-3845
Carol Fiol Director Resource Development-Senior Grant Administrator carol.fiol@frontrange.edu (970)204-8441
Lynn Vosler Director, Corporate Solutions  lynn.vosler@frontrange.edu  (970)214-3362
George Newman Machining Program Director  george.newman@frontrange.edu  (970)227-8230
 Nicole Gervace Employer Outreach Coordinator  nicole.gervace@frontrange.edu (303)678-3794
Diana Montealegre Instructional Designer diana.montealegre@frontrange.com (303)678-3795
Samantha Larson Research Analyst samantha.larson@frontrange.edu (303)914-6124
Renee Ellis Administrative Assistant  renee.ellis@frontrange.edu  (303)678-3790
Jennifer Fyhrie Navigator jennifer.fyhrie@frontrange.edu (303)678-3791
Larry Hartman Faculty larry.hartman@frontrange.edu (970)678-3793
George Deeb Faculty george.deeb@frontrange.edu (970)678-3798
Joseph Vigil Fiscal joseph.vigil@frontrange.edu (303)404-5548


Lamar Community College

Name Title Email Phone
Curtis Turner  Project Manager curtis.turner@lamarcc.edu (719)688-8860
Kelli Gaines Alternate Lead kelli.gaines@lamarcc.edu (719)336-1523
Cheryl Sanchez Alternate Lead cheryl.sanchez@lamarcc.edu (719)336-1516
Susan Frankel Navigator susan.frankel@lamarcc.edu (719)336-2248
Doug Cash Faculty for curriculum development doug.cash@lamarcc.edu (719)336-6641
Aubrie Humburg Fiscal aubrie.humburg@lamarcc.edu (719)336-1571


Metropolitan State University of Denver

Name Title Email Phone
Steven Long Project Manager slong25@msudenver.edu (720) 323-1638
Mingli He Alternate Lead 1 & Faculty he@msudenver.edu (303) 556-2975
Sharon Simpson Navigator sfields@msudenver.edu (720) 201-1985
Jesse Sfetsas Program Associate jsfetsas@msudenver.edu (303) 352-4984
Devi Kalla Faculty & Instructional Design dkalla@msudenver.edu (303) 556-2977
William Carver Lab Coordinator wcarver1@msudenver.edu (720) 347-7771
Charlotte Stone Fiscal stonec@msudenver.edu (303) 556-5007


Pikes Peak Community College

Name Title Email Phone
Mike Couillard Project Manager mike.couillard@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3532
Jim Kynor Alternate Lead 1 james.kynor@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3185
Linda Rains Navigator linda.rains@ppcc.edu (719) 502-2316
Jim Kynor Grant Administrator  james.kynor@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3185
Stephanie Snyder CPL Portfolios and Separated Military Specialist stephanie.snyder@ppcc.edu (719) 502-2312
Rich Rayborn CPL Active Military Specialist richard.rayborn@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3297
Jason Nahrgang IMilitary and Workforce Outreach Coordinator jason.nahrgang@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3036
Janet Colvin CHAMP CPL Specialist janet.colvin@ppcc.edu (719) 502-2075
Michele Koster Faculty for curriculum development michele.koster@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3245
Brenda Lauer Fiscal brenda.lauer@ppcc.edu (719) 502-2403
Patricia Diawara Institutional Research patricia.diawara@ppcc.edu (719) 502-2037


Pueblo Community College

Name Title Email Phone
Amy Rye Project Lead amy.rye@pueblocc.edu (719) 549-3156
Jennifer Sherman Alternate Lead jennifer.sherman@pueblocc.edu (719) 549-3322
 OPEN Administrative Assistant
Rachel Brown Navigator rachel.brown@pueblocc.edu (719)549-3157
Geri Koncilja Curriculum Designer geri.koncilja@pueblocc.edu  (719)549-3054
Paula McPheeters Fiscal paula.mcpheeters@pueblocc.edu (719) 549-3484
Linda Tremblay Grants office linda.tremblay@pueblocc.edu (719) 549-3244
Corey Shilling IR corey.shilling@pueblocc.edu (719) 549-3195


Red Rocks Community College

Name Title Email Phone
Pam Packer Project Manager pamela.packer@rrcc.edu (303)914-6753
Kelly Circle Alternate Lead kelly.circle@rrcc.edu (303)914-6213
Laura Aycock Navigator laura.aycock@rrcc.edu (303)914-6291
Sarah Ohle/td> Data Coordinator sarah.ohle@rrcc.edu (303)914-6753
Joe Martin Faculty for curriculum development jrmartin@jeffco.k12.co.us (303)982-8563
Jennifer Austin Fiscal jennifer.austin@rrcc.edu (303)914-6225
Tim Griffin Institutional Reporting tim.griffin@rrcc.edu (303)914-6516
Donna Welschmeyer Instructional Designer donna.welschmeyer@rrcc.edu (303)914-6754


CCCS, System Office

Name Title Email Phone
Casey Sacks Program Director casey.sacks@cccs.edu (720)858-2841
Bitsy Cohn CPL Coordinator bitsy.cohn@cccs.edu (720)858-2883
Thomas Hartman Articulation and Transfer Coordinator thomas.hartman@cccs.edu (720)858-2807
Brenda Perea Instructional Design Project Manager brenda.perea@cccs.edu (720)858-2855
Katherine Woodmansee Instructional Designer katherine.woodmansee@cccs.edu (720)858-2857
Marilyn Smith Navigator/Outreach Coordinator marilyn.smith@cccs.edu (720)858-2328
Ian Burke Data Coordinator ian.burke@cccs.edu (720)858-2268
Mary Cornell Administrative Assistant mary.cornell@cccs.edu (720)858-2867
Laura Speaker Fiscal laura.speaker@cccs.edu (720)858-2745


CHAMP Fiscal located at FRCC

Name Title Address Email Phone
Jose Giardiello Acct. Coordinator I 3645 W. 112th Ave.-Box 3, Westminster, CO 80031 FRCC.CWGrantRestrictedFunds@frontrange.edu  (303) 404-5489
Andrea Salazar Acct. II CHAMP grant 3645 West 112th Avenue, Westminster, CO 80031 bao.xiong@frontrange.edu  (303) 404-5345
Bao Xiong Senior Restricted Funds Accountant 3645 West 112th Avenue, Westminster, CO 80031 andrea.salazar@frontrange.edu  (303) 404-5674


Leadership Team

Name Title Email Phone
Stacey Bibik Machining employer sb@stacytool.com  (303) 465-3922 (main)
Pete Neidecker Machining employer pneidecker@mountainsidemedical.com  (303) 530-0110 (main)
Shannon Lind Welding employer slind@hpweldingsup.com  (720) 285-7007
Robert Krum Welding employer robert.krum@airgas.com  (719) 336-4439 (store)
Paul Harter Engineering graphics employer paulh@aquahot.com  (303) 651-5500 (main)
Gina Nance Electro-mechanical Employer gnance@gcc.com  (719) 647-6800 (main)
Dave Jeffrey Manufacturing Employer djeffrey@jpmprototype.com  (719) 522-9592
Tim Heaton CAMA representative tim.heaton@co-cama.org  (720) 274-9776
Tom Bugnitz CAMT representative tbugnitz@camt.com  (303) 592-4087 (main)
Aleta Sherman CAMT alternate asherman@camt.com  (303) 981-7870 (main)
Stephanie Veck CWDC representative Stephanie.Veck@state.co.us  (303) 318-8113 (main)
Emily Lesh CWDC alternate emily.lesh@state.co.us  (303) 318-8113 (main)
Ben Nesbitt Director of Skilled Trades in CTE at CCCS ben.nesbitt@cccs.edu  (303) 595-1614
Judy Emery Colorado Urban Workforce Alliance (CUWA) jemery@arapahoegov.com
Steve Chorak Pueblo Workforce Center Rep steven.chorak@state.co.us  (719) 562-3742
Dave Griffin Rural Workforce Center Rep david.griffin@state.co.us  (303) 318-8855
Linda Curran FRCC VP linda.curran@frontrange.edu  (303) 678-3620
Linda F. Comeaux RRCC VPI linda.comeaux@rrcc.edu  (303) 914-6402
Lisa Donaldson PPCC VP lisa.donaldson@ppcc.edu  (719) 502-3016
Deborah “Sunny” Schmitt PCC VP deborah.schmitt@pueblocc.edu  (719) 549-3175
Vicki Golich MSU Denver Provost vgolich@msudenver.edu  (303) 556-3040
Rhonda Epper CCD Interim Provost rhonda.epper@ccd.edu  (970) 352-3221
Richard Hanks AIMS Dean richard.hanks@aims.edu (970) 339-6513
Michael Bevis EGTC Dean michael.bevis@emilygriffith.edu  (720) 423-4979
Cheryl Sanchez LCC VP cheryl.sanchez@lamarcc.edu  (719) 336-1516
Devon Sheldon Coombe CAEL representative dscoombe@cael.org (303) 804-4660

Advisory Committee

Name Title Email Phone
Bill Gundry Employer FRCC – Woodward wgundr@woodward.com  (970) 482-5822 (main)
Dave Jeffrey Employer PPCC – JPM prototype djeffrey@jpmprototype.com  (719) 522-959
Trevor Thorne Employer CCD – Alfred Mfg
Seth Joraanstad Employer RRCC – Barber-Nichols Inc
Ray Luscombe Employer Metro – B&B Machine and Grinding Service bb.ray@Qwestoffice.net  (303) 744-2751
Peter Hancock Employer EGTC – Aerotek phancock@aerotek.com
David Light Employer PCC – EVRAZ david.light@evrazincna.com (719) 251-0028
Employer AIMS – Leprino
Robert Krum Employer LCC – Airgas Robert.krum@airgas.com (719) 336-4439 (store)
Bob Geoffrey Employer CCD – – Davis Manufacturing
Emily Lesh CWDC emily.lesh@state.co.us (303)318-8113
Susan Kannel CAEL skannel@cael.org (303) 804-4664
Devon Sheldon Coombe CAEL dscoombe@cael.org (303) 804-4660
Bruce Beardsley Aims CC CHAMP Project Manager & Employer Outreach Coordinator bruce.beardsley@aims.edu (970)339-6265
John Mangin Aims CC Faculty for curriculum development john.mangin@aims.edu (970)339-6413
Christopher Budden CCD Alternate Lead christopher.budden@ccd.edu (303)352-3221
Tony Rubino CCD Faculty for curriculum development  anthony.rubino@ccd.edu (303)853-9517
Jody Allen-Smith EGTC CHAMP Project Manager jody.allen.smith@emilygriffith.edu (720)423-8994
Ruth Meese FRCC CHAMP Project Lead ruth.meese@frontrange.edu (303)678-3698
Curtis Turner LCC CHAMP Project Manager curtis.turner@lamarcc.edu (719)688-8860
Steven Long MSU-Denver Project Manager slong25@msudenver.edu (720) 323-1638
Mingli He MSU-Denver Alternate Lead 1 & Faculty he@msudenver.edu (303) 556-2975
Mike Couillard PPCC CHAMP Project Manager mike.couillard@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3532
Jim Kynor PPCC Alternate Lead 1 james.kynor@ppcc.edu (719) 502-3185
Amy Rye PCC CHAMP Project Manager amy.rye@pueblocc.edu (719) 549-3156
Pam Packer RRCC CHAMP Project Manager pamela.packer@rrcc.edu (303)914-6753



CC BY logo
This Workforce Solution Webpage by Colorado Helps Advanced Manufacturing Program is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at Colorado Community College System-Grants

This workforce solution was funded by a grant awarded by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration. The solution was created by the grantee and does not necessarily reflect the official position of the U.S. Department of labor. The Department of Labor makes no guarantees, warranties, or assurances of any kind, express or implied, with respect to such information, including any information on linked sites and including, but not limited to, accuracy of the information or its completeness, timeliness, usefulness, adequacy, continued availability, or ownership.